National Accessibility Standards

Below are some great resources for learning about the accessibility laws and standards we should abide by. Of these laws and standards, ASCIT Program recommends WCAG 2.0 level A and AA conformance but encourages WCAG 2.1 level A and AA conformance. Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 was recently updated to harmonize with WCAG 2.0 A and AA, so conforming to either WCAG standard will significantly decrease your chances of violating accessibility laws.

Section 508 Website

The official government website for Section 508 offers a rundown of the regulations and policies that have resulted from the law. There are also numerous other resources, including tools for implementing the policies, websites and resources for evaluating compliance, online training, examples of similar State legislation, and more.

WebAIM Guide to US Laws

A guide to the history of laws involving accessibility for people with disabilities compiled by WebAIM.

Access Board – Section 508

A webpage provided by the United States Access Board that provides extensive documentation of the Federal standard. Provides copies of the standards in English, Spanish, and Japanese, with options for text-to-speech and Brailler formatted versions.

W3C Web Accessibility Initiative

The Web Accessibility Initiative, implemented by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) develops strategies, guidelines, and resources to help make the Web accessible to people with disabilities. The site contains guidelines, evaluation tools, as well as presentations and tutorials on various accessibility topics.

WCAG 2.0 Guidelines

The official online listing of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 developed by the Web Accessibility Initiative. Version 2.0 was used by the US Access Board to refresh Section 508, so more companies may choose the conform to version 2.0 instead of version 2.1.

WCAG 2.1 Guidelines 

The official online listing of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 developed by the Web Accessibility Initiative. Version 2.1  of these guidelines was only recently released. As such, some companies and agencies may still use version 2.0 instead.